GTA 6 guides · Around the release
Making room for GTA 6 on your console
The question has two unknowns, and each is withheld by whoever holds it: the publisher does not state the game's size, and the console maker does not state how much space is actually available. Any number in circulation is therefore invented at both ends.
The game's size is not published
Neither the PlayStation listing nor the Xbox listing for GTA 6 mentions an install size, a storage requirement or a figure in gigabytes. Read on the same day on both official stores.
One point of honesty here, and it matters. On other subjects, a missing label is information: when the same store shows a field for the previous game and not for this one, the silence says something. That is not the case here. The previous game's listing does not publish its install size either.
In other words, these stores do not publish that field for any of these games. The absence signals nothing particular about GTA 6: it says only that the information is not there, and that no deduction can come out of it.
Your console's space is not the space advertised
The second unknown is less well known, and the manufacturer states it in plain words. On its own store, Sony writes about the PS5 drive: "A portion of the SSD is reserved for system software and other functions so the available SSD capacity may vary."
The manufacturer gives no figure. It says the figure varies.
On the Xbox side, the official specifications page states the drive capacity and says nothing at all about how much of it is actually usable.
An advertised capacity is therefore never the room you have, and the gap is published by nobody.
The only reliable figure is on your console
Two unpublished unknowns leave exactly one measurement worth taking: the one your console makes itself. It shows real free space, system reservation already deducted, installed games included.
That is the number to write down before deciding anything, and it belongs to you alone: two consoles of the same model do not show the same thing, depending on what is on them.
Taking it now has a second benefit: it leaves time to uninstall calmly, rather than doing it on release night with a download waiting.
When the size will be known
An install size usually appears when the download becomes possible: the store shows it on the listing, or the console announces it before starting the transfer.
The day that figure is published on an official source, this page will cite it with its date and its link. Not before, and not as an estimate: an estimated size helps nobody decide, it only feels like an answer.
Frequently asked questions
- How many gigabytes will GTA 6 be?
- It is published nowhere. Neither the PlayStation nor the Xbox listing mentions an install size. The figures in circulation are estimates, made with no more information than you have.
- Will my console have enough room?
- Impossible to say from outside: neither the game's size nor the space actually free on your console are published figures. The second one, though, your console gives you exactly.
- Should I buy extra storage now?
- Nothing settles that today, since one of the two figures is missing. Reading your free space costs less than a drive and gives you half the answer.
- Why does the advertised capacity never match?
- Because part of the drive is reserved for system software. Sony states this on its store and says the available capacity may vary, without giving a figure. Xbox does not address it.
Sources
- PlayStation Store, Grand Theft Auto VI, Standard Edition · ✓ VERIFIED ·
- Xbox Store, Grand Theft Auto VI · ✓ VERIFIED ·
- PlayStation Direct, console PS5, mention sur la capacité disponible · ✓ VERIFIED ·
- Xbox, page officielle Xbox Series X, caractéristiques · ✓ VERIFIED ·
Every source is public and readable without an account. The date is when Loreside last checked it, not when the source was published.
Published
The ambient image on this page is generated by artificial intelligence. How we produce our visuals